Rise of Legends

Big Huge Games, Inc. (Proprietary)

Rise of Nations: Rise of Legends is a video game developed by Big Huge Games and released on May 2009. This video game is a spinoff and indirect sequel of the 2003 video game, Rise of Nations. Rise of Nations: Rise of Legends features a real-time strategy type of gameplay where players get to control units and build structures in order to achieve the game objectives. Real-time Strategy (RTS) is a subgenre of strategy games where players along with opponents perform actions simultaneously in real time. This is the opposite of turn-based strategy video games where players take turns in performing actions with their units and structures. Rise of Nations: Rise of Legends includes the basic elements of strategy games such as choosing a faction, establishing a base, producing units, gathering resources, upgrading technology, as well as protecting the base by mobilizing military units. The game’s main objective is for players to develop and protect their bases before launching an attack to defeat their enemy. Rise of Nations: Rise of Legends has both a single player story mode as well as an online multiplayer mode.

Rise of Nations: Rise of Legends is set in a world where technology and magic coexist. Players get to choose between three playable factions that have their own unique unit and structure attributes. These factions include the Vinci, the Alin, and the Cuotl. The Vinci is a faction that specializes on technological advancement and relies heavily on steam engines, clockwork contraptions, and gunpowder weaponry. The Alin relies heavily on magic and is capable of controlling giant scorpions, salamanders, and dragons. The last faction, the Cuotl, uses a balanced amount of magic and technology. Rise of Nations: Rise of Legends features unique gameplay elements such as various city districts that provide bonuses for the player, as well as special units such as Master units and Hero units. The city districts can be established using a certain amount of resources. These districts include the Military, Merchant, Palace, Magus, and Industrial.